Tag Archives: mindfulness

Silk For The Soul


The Stress Factor

How do you wind down after a tough day at work? A glass of wine (yes please), some TV (oh, go on then), a few hugs (best of the lot), a hot bath (wish I had one…)?

A New Trick After A Long Day…


Here’s something else you might like to try – 3 minute spiritual massages from Inner Space I’d liken to silky luxury for a weary mind.

Who Are Guided Meditations Suitable For?


These guided meditations are wonderful if:

i) You’re keen to try meditation for the first time;

ii) You’re a practised meditation expert who’d like to try a new, multi-sensory format; or

iii) You’d just like to discover a new medium for relaxation which doesn’t involve back-breaking sweating in public parks / falling off treadmills (I like to exaggerate the risks to offset guilt).

Why Bother?


Short and sweet, these are nice and easy to fit into your day whether first thing when you’re in a sleepy daze, during a hot soak in a bubble bath or last thing at night to settle your mind. With beautiful visuals and calming narration, these are really luxurious treats for the mind, body and soul.

What Else?


Check out Inner Space’s fascinating courses, talks and lectures if you’d like to spice up your spiritual life and meet some interesting folk around Covent Garden, the City, Camden and beyond!

Watch today’s guided meditation below:

The Angry Therapist: A Tale Of Career Change

USA, New Jersey, Jersey City, Young woman working in office. Image shot 2011. Exact date unknown.

“I spent 11 years working in finance and consulting after university, experiencing bouts of debilitating depression, addicted to the money-spending-drinking-shopping- working-money cycle that is so endemic in our society. I believed this was normal life, I found my job reasonably interesting, but something never seemed quite right. I watched my friends endure the same cycle…mortgage themselves up to the hilt to build a house of cards based on a life we are expected to want. And I still thought this was normal. I had absolutely no idea who I was… Three years ago I woke up. I woke up to the fact that I was stuck believing that life had to be like this, that this was who I was and all I was worth. I gradually began to unstick myself…

Lucy Lucas



Ever wondered whether there’s more to life than your well-paid, high pressure job? Ever questioned why the ‘dream’ that you were sold feels more like a nightmare at times? Ever felt a sense of emptiness that your career doesn’t bring you the fulfilment you’ve been driving yourself into the ground for? Ever had that horrible sick feeling in the pit of your stomach which tells you that you’ll never find true happiness pursuing that lifestyle, yet you have no clue what other options you have? If any of these are you, read this great article via #escapethecity by Lucy Lucas aka. ‘The Angry Therapist‘, on her career change from finance to yoga and mindfulness.

What The Devil’s Chakra All About?

What are the 7 Chakras?

According to Buddhist teaching, there are 7 main chakras within the human body. These are the energy centers that energy flows through. Each chakra has an attachment to separate body areas including glands and organs. The word chakra means wheel in Sanskrit.

Why Should You Care About Them?


The 7 separate chakras serve a vital purpose, but they must work together to create balance in your body. With balance, your body will experience physical and emotional peace.

Blocked energy in your 7 chakras can often lead to illness so it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what you can do to keep this energy flowing freely.

What does each Chakra mean?

For a visual sketch of each chakra, see below:

In other words:

1. Root Chakra - Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

  • Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
  • Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

2. Sacral Chakra - Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
  • Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra - Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
  • Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra - Our ability to love.

  • Location: Center of chest just above heart.
  • Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.

5. Throat Chakra - Our ability to communicate.

  • Location: Throat.
  • Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

6. Third Eye Chakra - Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).
  • Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

7. Crown Chakra - The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

  • Location: The very top of the head.
  • Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

What Can You Do To Take Care Of Your Chakras?

According to believers, carrying particular stones outlined in the above diagram will ease physical, spiritual or emotional blockages in that particular chakra zone.

Alternatively, to keep the 7 chakras clear, try the 3 Minute Meditation Exercise in my article below. Whether you believe or not, it’s a great way to calm a busy mind.